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The amounts and calculations shown below do not take into account the discretion a judicial officer may have 
to impose a higher or lower total fine, or an alternative sentence.  The amounts and calculations may not be 
representative of an individual case and the information is meant only to be used as a general reference.  This 
information is only applicable to San Diego County. 
 
 
 
The "bail" on a citation is the amount of money required to guarantee an appearance.  If bail (often referred to as a 
fine) is forfeited (i.e., one chooses to pay the bail amount if that option is available), the citation is considered paid, a 
conviction for the citation is entered, and if it is a reportable offense, the conviction is placed on the individual’s driving 
record.   

Each violation listed on a citation is assigned a base bail amount.  In addition to that amount, other fees and 
assessments are added to make up the total bail amount.  A breakdown of the total bail, showing the base bail, fees, 
and assessments is set out below.   

The total amount due on any citation may be increased as a result of prior convictions or points on one's driving 
record, or for committing an offense while driving in a highway construction or maintenance area (Veh. Code § 42009) 
and for violations committed in a Safety Enhancement-Double Fine Zone (Veh. Code § 40210).   

∙ Base Bail Amount:  Determined by California statutes, the Judicial Council of California’s Uniform Bail and 
Penalty Schedule, and the San Diego Superior Court Bail Schedule. 

∙ Penalty Assessment and State Surcharge:  Set by the California Legislature and authorized by numerous 
statutes.  Effective June 27, 2012, the assessment equals $31 for every $10 of base bail or fraction thereof (this 
includes a state surcharge that is approximately $2.00 for every $10 or fraction thereof).  See the Authorities for 
Assessments section of the San Diego Superior Court Bail Schedule for additional information. 

∙ Court Operations Assessment: $40 added for each violation (Pen. Code § 1465.8). 
∙ Criminal Conviction Assessment:  $30 (misdemeanor) or $35 (infraction) added for each violation (Gov. 

Code § 70373). 
∙ Emergency Medical Air Trans. Penalty:  $4 added for each Vehicle Code violation (Gov. Code § 76000.10). 
∙ Night Court Assessment:  $1 added to each case with a Vehicle Code violation (Veh. Code § 42006). 
∙ Traffic School Administrative and Monitoring Fees:  $52 (effective January 1, 2013) added to attend traffic 

school (Veh. Code §§ 42007.1 & 11208).  The cost of the school is a separate fee paid directly to the school. 
 

Example of total bail for failing to stop at a circular red or red arrow  
(Veh. Code § 21453(a)) 

Base Bail $100  
Penalty Assessment and Surcharge 310  
Court Operations Assessment 40  
Criminal Conviction Assessment 35  
Night Court Fee 1  
Total $486  
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