Home/Civil Division/CEQA

Actions brought under the California Environmental Quality Act ("CEQA") seek judicial review of a public agency's acts or decisions with respect to a project that may cause either a direct or indirect change in the environment.

Pursuant to Public Resources Code section 21167.1(b) and San Diego Local Rules, rule 1.2.2.G, the following judges are designated to hear all matters arising under the California Environmental Quality Act, California Public Resources Code sections 21000 et. seq.:

Honorable Loren G. Freestone, D-64, Hall of Justice
Honorable Robert C. Longstreth, D-65, Hall of Justice
Honorable Kenneth J. Medel, D-66, Hall of Justice
Honorable Richard S. Whitney, D-68, Hall of Justice
Honorable Katherine A. Bacal, D-69, Hall of Justice
Honorable Carolyn Caietti, D-70, Hall of Justice
Honorable Gregory W. Pollack, D-71, Hall of Justice
Honorable Joel R. Wohlfeil, D-73, Hall of Justice
Honorable James A. Mangione, D-75, Hall of Justice
Honorable Timothy B. Taylor, D-2004, Central Courthouse
Honorable Cynthia A. Freeland, D-27, North County
Honorable Earl H. Maas III, D-28, North County
Honorable Robert P. Dahlquist, D-29, North County
Honorable Blaine K. Bowman, D-31, North County

If one of the foregoing judges becomes disqualified for any reason, a case filed under CEQA will be reassigned to another CEQA designated judge.